Training in the Wind!

Training for the Rapha Women’s 100 is not something I need to do. I know I can cycle it all in one day, the thing is, its not about just the ride.

Cycling is a community. We have our own ways, sub cultures and differences between ┬ároad cyclist, mouton bikes and commuters, but we all share a love of bikes. I have met a lovely bunch of ladies on Mumsnet who are doing the Rapha ride ‘with’ me. Even though we will be miles apart. Thats part of what makes it special.

We swap tips, follow each other on Strava and inspire each other to get out on our bikes when we may not feel like it. Women are inspirational and seem to offer each other a sisterhood, even if we have never met. This is what makes me want to take part, and the more women the merrier.

I ‘talk’ to them every day and just knowing other people are doing the same as you creates a form of camaraderie that makes it enjoyable to be part of a group.

It’s like when you ride alone, you are never truly alone. Other cyclists always acknowledge you, or stop to help you change a flat tyre and so on. I never feel like I am on my own. Well, that is unless it’s raining and I am stuck on the turbo trainer.

I never enjoy these sessions really. I put a training video on youtube and pedal at all the right moments, and have no doubt it is helping my fitness, but it just isn’t the same. I always get bored half way through and end up going for a bath. Spring hasn’t been that kind in Scotland with high winds and freezing temperatures again, but I am hopeful it will get better again. Nothing beats the outdoors!

Leave a Reply

